24 Great Books in 2016: Day One

It’s been a while since I posted here, huh? Ironically, I have been distracted by books, so I hope you’ll all forgive me. In an attempt to get this blog actually up and running, I have come up with the idea of an Advent countdown of sorts, in which I will talk about 24 great books I have read this year.

The first book I’m going to talk about actually isn’t out until January, and is Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough.

behind-her-eyes

Louise

Since her husband walked out, Louise has made her son her world, supporting them both with her part-time job. But all that changes when she meets…

David

Young, successful and charming – Louise cannot believe a man like him would look at her twice let alone be attracted to her. But that all comes to a grinding halt when she meets his wife…

Adele

Beautiful, elegant and sweet – Louise’s new friend seems perfect in every way. As she becomes obsessed by this flawless couple, entangled in the intricate web of their marriage, they each, in turn, reach out to her.

But only when she gets to know them both does she begin to see the cracks… Is David really is the man she thought she knew and is Adele as vulnerable as she appears?
Just what terrible secrets are they both hiding and how far will they go to keep them?

I’m a big fan of Sarah Pinborough anyway – she always writes thoughtful, clever books – and there’d been a lot of hype about Behind Her Eyes on twitter, partly because the physical proofs were published with the hashtag #WTFThatEnding and a promise that you wouldn’t see what’s coming, and it really did seem to be catching everyone out. Now I’m pretty good at working out how a story is going to end – I’ve consumed a lot of media in my 37 years on this planet, and there are only so many ways you can tell a story – so I was eager to see if this really was as surprising as promised. Believe me when I tell you that that hashtag is not hyperbole! I thought I knew where it was going, but I really, really didn’t, and when I realised where it *had* gone, I could feel this huge grin spreading across my face at the sheer cleverness of Sarah. It was AMAZING.

Even without that ending, Behind Her Eyes would be a cracker of a book though. Psychological thrillers aren’t really my jam, and I really did only read this because of the author, but the way the story is structured is very clever, drawing you in and never letting you go. I stayed up way past my bedtime so I could finish it. I don’t want to say too much about it, because I’m terrified of spoiling it, but it is genuinely one of the best books I have read this year, and one of three that immediately sprang to mind when I decided to do this themed posting (you should hopefully see what the other 2 are at some point.). It’s out on 26th January, and I HIGHLY recommend it.

5/5

Arc received via Netgalley

Leave a Reply

