24 Great Books in 2016: Day Six

Back to books that haven’t actually been released yet! Wing Jones (or The Heartbeats of Wing Jones if you’re in the US) by Katherine Webber is out on the 5th January, and I loved it so much I’m actually going to go and buy a copy, even though I already have an ARC. (This is at least partly down to it coming with gorgeous sprayed edges. I do like a book with sprayed edges!)

wing-jones-cover

With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

As I said above, I LOVED this book. I read it straight through in a couple of hours when I was supposed to be working, because I had to know what happened. Wing herself is a fantastic character. She doesn’t quite fit in anywhere, and has always been overshadowed by her older brother, but to see the journey she takes following the tragedy at the centre of the story was so fulfilling. Wing doesn’t have an easy time of it, but she comes out the other side stronger, and I adored her. She is ably supported by her family – her grandmothers were one of my favourite parts of the book, and the early scenes with her older brother were adorable – and her crush, Aaron, who was the other half of a pairing I shipped almost immediately.

Basically, everyone should make sure they meet Wing when this book is out next month. I honestly don’t think you’d regret it.

5/5

Leave a Reply

