24 Great Books in 2016: Day Nine

I suspect this will be quite a short post, because I’m not having a good day today, but that in no way reflects on the quality of the book!

wolf-by-wolf

Once upon a different time, there was a girl who lived in a kingdom of death. Wolves howled up her arm. A whole pack of them-made of tattoo ink and pain, memory and loss. It was the only thing about her that ever stayed the same.Her story begins on a train.

Germania, 1956. Over ten years since the Nazis won the war. 18-year-old Yael is part of the resistance, and she has just one mission: to kill Hitler.

But first she’s got to get close enough to him to do it.

Experimented on during her time at Auschwitz, Yael has the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only part of her which always remains are the five tattooed wolves on her arm; one for each of the people she’s lost. Using her abilities, she must transform into Adele Wolfe, Germany’s most famous female rider and winner of the legendary Axis Tour; an epic long distance motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo, where only the strongest (and wiliest) riders survive. If she can win this, she will be able to get close enough to kill the Fuhrer and change history forever.

But with other riders sabotaging her chances at every turn, Yael’s mission won’t be easy

I read Wolf By Wolf, by Ryan Graudin, back in February, when it was one of the first picks in the YA book club my local Waterstones runs. I must admit, I might not have picked it up if it hadn’t been for that, but I’d have been missing out on a brilliant, thought-provoking book. An exploration of counter-factual history – in this case, what  if Hitler had won WWII? – with a SFF twist, I found it absolutely fascinating, and it’s stayed with me. My heart hurt for Yael and what she’d been through, and I found her strength of character astonishing. While I think my favourite parts were the backstory to each of her wolves, I found the motorcycle race gripping, and I couldn’t put the book down until I’d finished it. And then the ending! I am very glad the sequel is now out, although I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. Believe me, if you go out and buy Wolf By Wolf, make sure you also buy Blood For Blood, because you’re not going to want to wait!

5/5

Leave a Reply

