24 Great Books in 2016: Day Thirteen

Life is a little busy this week, and it seems like I have lots to do away from the computer (I know! I’m a little surprised too! :)), so I’m writing this very late. Hopefully normal service will be resumed soon. Today’s book is One by Sarah  Crossan.

one-cover

Grace and Tippi are twins – conjoined twins.

And their lives are about to change.

No longer able to afford homeschooling, they must venture into the world – a world of stares, sneers and cruelty. Will they find more than that at school? Can they find real friends? And what about love?

But what neither Grace or Tippi realises is that a heart-wrenching decision lies ahead. A decision that could tear them apart. One that will change their lives even more than they ever imagined…

From Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Sarah Crossan, this moving and beautifully crafted novel about identity, sisterhood and love ultimately asks one question: what does it mean to want and have a soulmate?

One is written in free verse, and I’ll admit, that had put me off reading it. But I found it in my local library and decided to give it a go. That was one of the best decisions I made all year. It’s only a short book – I read it in about an hour – but it’s so beautifully written, and I was sobbing by the end. Written from Grace’s point of view, Crossan nevertheless manages to make you care about everyone’s struggles, even if they conflict with Grace’s opinion. It’s clear from the beginning that there are difficult choices to be made, and I found that I was dreading getting to those points in the book, because I didn’t want anything bad to happen to these girls. I know I’ve already said it, but beautiful really is the best word to describe this book, although heartbreaking would do too.

After reading this book, I would read anything written by Sarah Crossan. Anything. I love her writing, and I’m very interested to see what her forthcoming collaboration with Brian Conaghan (called We Come Apart) is like. Pick up one of her books – you won’t be disappointed! (And if you don’t trust my judgement, One won this year’s Carnegie Medal. Just in case you needed any more persuading. :))

5/5

One thought on “24 Great Books in 2016: Day Thirteen

Leave a Reply

