24 Great Books in 2016: Day Nineteen

How are we at the 19th December already? I can’t decide if this is a good thing or a bad thing – after all, 2016 has been a sucky year, I’m just not sure if I’m happy that it seems to have disappeared!

Anyway, today’s book is The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson.

the-sky-is-everywhere

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey.

But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life – and suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two boys. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow; the other comforts her in it. But the two can’t collide without Lennie’s world exploding…

So, I really only picked this up because Jandy was doing a signing at my local bookshop. I was only going to get my copy of I’ll Give You The Sun signed, and then I saw The Sky is Everywhere and decided I’d regret not buying it when I could also get it signed. I am very glad I did. I loved I’ll Give You The Sun, but The Sky is Everywhere was even better.

It’s a stunning exploration of grief, and how different people deal with it. The notes Lennie writes to her sister and leaves all over town are beautiful. Lennie is hurting so badly, and it shows. As a reader, you forgive her her bad decisions, because you can see it’s the only way she can think of to cope with the tragedy that has hit her. Her relationship with Toby seems inevitable, because they both know what the other is going through. Being together brings them closer to Bailey, and I couldn’t really hate them for that, even though I read those scenes internally screaming about Joe. Yes, in her grief Lennie is selfish, but she’s also a teenager coping with the loss of her older sister, who was also her best friend, so you forgive her, and you watch her slowly begin to cope in a healthier way. I read it pretty much in one go, and a lot of the words were blurry because of the tears, but I think it’s a book I will be returning to again and again.

5/5

Leave a Reply

