24 Great Books in 2016: Day Twenty-One

A little break from the norm today, as I’m (briefly) going to talk about a book that’s not out until February, and I want to leave the actual review to a bit nearer the time. I only read it last week, (Usborne very kindly sent a box of proofs to the book club I’m a member of, and I practically pounced on a copy!) but it immediately made its way onto my favourite books list, certainly of the year and possible ever. It was wonderful and  I felt that I had to include it here.

unconventional

Lexi Angelo is a Convention Kid – she’s got a clipboard and a walkie talkie to prove it.

Aidan Green is a messy-haired, annoyingly arrogant author and he’s disrupting her perfect planning.

In a flurry of awkward encounters, lost schedules and late-night conversations, Lexi discovers that some things can’t be planned… Things like falling in love.

I absolutely adored Unconventional. It’s smart, funny and the slow burn romance is to die for. I was really looking forward to reading it anyway, and it did not disappoint. As someone who goes to conventions, I loved the setting, and it is peopled with a cast of characters who are so easy to relate to, they seemed completely real to me. The book is out on 1st February, and I can’t recommend it enough.

I will be back with a full review (hopefully) in January. 🙂

PSA: Just found out Maggie Harcourt’s previous book, The Last Summer of Us, is currently only 99p on Amazon kindle. I haven’t read  it yet, but if it’s anything like as good as Unconventional, that is a bargain you shouldn’t pass up.

 

Leave a Reply

