24 Great Books in 2016: Day Twenty-Two

Today’s book is the third of a trilogy that I have read in its entirety this year. Holly Bourne’s Spinster Club books are a brilliant introduction to feminism, as well as discussing the issues teens face, and What’s A Girl Gotta Do? is a fantastic end to the main series (there’s a novella that takes place in the Christmas holidays after they’ve all gone to university). Each book focuses on a different member of the club, and this is Lottie’s book.

whats-a-girl-gotta-do

HOW TO START A FEMINIST REVOLUTION:

1. Call out anything that is unfair on one gender

2. Don’t call out the same thing twice (so you can sleep and breathe)

3. Always try to keep it funny

4. Don’t let anything slide. Even when you start to break…

Lottie’s determined to change the world with her #Vagilante vlog. Shame the trolls have other ideas…

I tried to explain what I loved about What’s A Girl Gotta Do? to someone, and perhaps started the wrong way when I said I found it exhausting, but I mean that in the best possible way. I was exhausted because I felt the struggles that Lottie was going through – she was exhausted by them, so I was too. She tries so hard to make a change in the world, and she gets so harrassed for it, in a way that will ring very true to anyone who’s ever expressed a feminist opinion on twitter. Also, the number of things she finds to challenge, even on the first day, is horrendous – but no less true for that. This is what it’s like to be a teenage girl in 2016, and we need more people like Lottie in real life. I want to hand this book to every teenager I come across, because I think it’s important. Exhausting and heartbreaking it might be, but it’s also smart and funny and brings an interesting discussion to the table.

4.5/5

Leave a Reply

