Book Review: …And A Happy New Year?

I am so behind with my book reviews it is unbelievable. The good news is I’ve been reading a lot, and some of the books have been amazing, but I do find it difficult to keep up with blogging and reading. Basically, this is to arn you there might be a little flurry of posts in the next couple of days as I try to catch up and at least post all my British Books Challenge reviews before the end of the month. (Incidentally, how is it the end of January already?)

and-a-happy-new-year

Evie, Amber and Lottie are having a new year party to remember.

For the first time since leaving college, all three girls are back together. It’s time for fun and flirting, snogs and shots.

(And not tears or tantrums or terrible secrets)

Because everything’s going great for these girls – Spinster Club for ever! Right?

So I read …And A Happy New Year? a couple of weeks ago when I was ill because I wanted to read something that was quick and that I was pretty certain I would enjoy. I was right on both counts. And A Happy New Year? is a novella that closes Holly Bourne’s Spinster Club series, and things aren’t quite right between the three girls we’ve come to know and love. Each of them has a secret from the other two, so you can imagine what happens when they all meet up at Amber’s New Year’s Eve party for the first time since they left for university.

Friends keeping secrets from each other is one of my least favourite tropes, so I wasn’t sure what to expect from this. After all, these girls already know that keeping secrets doesn’t turn out well, but I did really enjoy it. I was sad that the three of them already seemed to be growing apart after just a few months away but it was clear from the story why that was happening and that it could be fixed. And the ending was perfect for the series. I would love to know what happened to them as they grew up, but it’s also nice to be able to draw my own conclusions.

As a novella, it is short, but it worked, and I’m very glad I finally got around to buying it.

If you’ve read the series (and if you haven’t, you should!), what do you think happened to the Spinster Club after uni? Leave me a note in the comments!

4/5

5 thoughts on “Book Review: …And A Happy New Year?

  1. I loved this series so much! I think the ending of this book was left pretty open ending, but I’d like to think that even if the girls all went their separate ways, they’d still get along just as well (and maybe Lottie runs for Prime Minister idk?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can imagine them all reuniting after 10 years and it being like they’d never been apart (and yes, I think Lottie would definitely have become a politician – maybe not actually PM, but I can see her joining the Women’s Equality Party and maybe becoming their first MP!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

