Book Review: The Scarecrow Queen

Oh. My. God. This book you guys. This book! I have been looking forward to it ever since I read The Sleeping Prince last year and I was lucky enough to get an early copy at the event I went to. It lived up to every expectation. I loved it. I’m also sad the series has ended, but it was done so perfectly that my sadness is slightly assuaged.

the-scarecrow-queen

The final battle is coming . . .

As the Sleeping Prince tightens his hold on Lormere and Tregellan, the net closes in on the ragged band of rebels trying desperately to defeat him. Twylla and Errin are separated, isolated, and running out of time. The final battle is coming, and Aurek will stop at nothing to keep the throne forever . . .

I don’t think I know how to even start reviewing this book. I mean, apart from anything else, it’s difficult to say anything meaningful without spoiling The Scarecrow Queen or its predecessors! It’s written from the points of view of both Twylla and Errin, the heroines of the previous two books. Twylla is desperately trying to find a way to a.) survive and b.) defeat Aurek and rescue Errin and Silas, who have been taken to Aurek’s castle. Twylla in The Scarecrow Queen is AMAZING. I loved her. Her upbringing means she’s never quite sure of herself, but with the help of the people who have become friends, she doesn’t let it stop her, and her ending is perfect. Just perfect. One of my biggest problems with Twylla in the first book was that she was just a little bit too naive, but it has been a pleasure to watch her grow over the three books. Errin is also amazing, and never stops fighting, even when she knows it could literally kill her to continue.

I really can’t talk too much about The Scarecrow Queen without spoiling people, and you really should go into it without knowing anything, so I shall have to leave my thoughts about Lief and Merek and various other characters, not to mention the plot, in my head. Just know that I really, really loved The Sleeping Prince, and The Scarecrow Queen matched it. I had to read it in one go because I couldn’t put it down. I cannot wait to see what Melinda Salisbury does next!

The Scarecrow Queen is out on 2nd March in the UK and US.

5/5

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Scarecrow Queen

Leave a Reply

