A Week in Books

I don’t normally do a weekly wrap-up, and I don’t think it’s something I’m going to start doing regularly, but I have had such a great, bookish week this week that I wanted to write about it before I forgot!

I read three books this week – The Painted Dragon by Katherine Woodfine, We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan, and Ink by Alice Broadway, which I just finished today. I enjoyed all of those books a lot, and as reading weeks go, I think that’s pretty good! Next up is A Conjuring of Light by V E Schwab, and I am so looking forward to reading this!

But what was really exciting about this week was the three book events I was able to attend. I am so, so lucky to live within relatively easy reach of two fabulous Waterstones – Liverpool One and Manchester Deansgate – and they both get some amazing events. Over the last few years, I’ve met a huge proportion of my favourite authors at both stores, and they both also have awesome staff. This week I got to meet Stephanie Garber, Maggie Harcourt, Holly Smale and Lisa Wiliamson. Isn’t that an amazing week of book events?!

It started on Wednesday with Stephanie Garber talking about Caraval in Liverpool One. She explained her writing process and how she came to write the book in the first place, including how the concept of it being about two sisters was the first thing she decided on. She also warned us not to set a book at night because it makes everything more complicated! Stephanie was lovely, and I may have a spare signed copy of Caraval to giveaway in the near future. *g*

Yesterday (Saturday), the Liverpool store had a visit from Maggie Harcourt as part of her Unconventional tour. Usborne had sent our book club some proofs of the book before Christmas and everyone who read it LOVED it (and you have no idea how unusual that is for our book club!), so we were very excited. This was a much more informal event and it was one of the best book events I have ever been to. I loved Maggie – she is definitely One of Us, and it turns out we fangirl over a lot of the same things. I don’t think I’ve ever been as vocal in an event as I was yesterday, but it felt like just another meeting of book club. I wanted to review Unconventional this month, but I need to re-read it first. Trust me when I say you need this book in your life though! It’s an amazing, slow burn romance set behind the scenes of SFF conventions and it’s WONDERFUL.

And today I headed over to Manchester to see Holly Smale and Lisa Williamson, along with Maggie again. I love Holly and Lisa and their books so much. Holly was promoting Forever Geek and Lisa was promoting All About Mia, both of which are amazing. I love listening to them talk about their books and influences, and a big theme of today seemed to be family, as all their books have important family relationships in them. It was a really fun event and it’s always lovely to see Holly and Lisa. If you ever have the opportunity to attend a book event, I urge you to take it. They’re so much fun!

The week ahead does not have any book events sadly. What it does have, hopefully, is reviews of Ink, History Is All You Left Me and Caraval, a monthly wrap-up post and the winner of my The Sin Eater’s Daughter giveaway, which ends on Wednesday night. I also want to try posting a TBR list for March, but I’m not very good at prioritising my reading! The other thing I would like to do is start adding graphics to the blog so if anyone has any advice, please let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

