February Wrap-Up

So once again I am late doing my monthly wrap-up. I kind of forgot February only has 28 days and then it was March! Still, I’m slightly earlier than last month’s, so fingers crossed the March wrap-up happens on time, eh? *g*

February Reading

I read 8 books in February, which is lower than I would have liked. Partly this is because I spent the last week of the month reading A Conjuring of Light, which is 666 pages long, and a lot longer than a lot of the books I normally read (it’s not on the list below because I didn’t finish it until March), and partly because I spent the first week of the month dithering between different books, unable to settle on anything. I’m now two books behind on my Goodreads challenge, but I have some tricks up my sleeve to catch up! I did at least manage to review almost all the books I did read, and I absolutely intend to catch up on the reviews I missed.

Only two of those were Netgalley books, and I need to make a real effort to get more books off my shelf there this month. Six of them counted towards the British Books Challenge though, so I am now at 16/12. Which isn’t bad going really. *g*

Book Haul

 

20170305_133352

Only 23 books this month, but that’s not counting the little kindle book-buying spree I went on during their half-term sale. I mean, if they’re only in ebook format, they totally don’t count, right?

Anyway, the stack on the left were charity shop finds. I don’t do it all the time, but I sometimes like to go out specifically to trawl the local charity shops for books, and I did pretty well this time. The other two stacks came mostly from Waterstones or Amazon, although one of the Caravals is the Tesco edition, which I will be giving away at some point this month, and the Book Lover’s Anthology and the Doctor Who book were presents (because I have friends who know me very well *g*).

Events

I already posted about the events I went to, which were amazing. I’m still in awe of how many great events my local stores put on. Laini Taylor will be here in April as part of the Strange The Dreamer  promotional tour and I’m so excited about meeting her! Here’s a photo of me with Maggie Harcourt last week. I’m normally very camera shy, but I enjoyed the event so much I wanted a photograhic record of it! (If you haven’t done so already, you need to pick up Unconventional. I know I keep saying it, but that’s because it’s true!)

20170225_174135

Looking Ahead

I had totally planned to have written a March TBR list by now, but I haven’t. I’m currently reading A Quite Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard, because I needed a contemporary break from fantasy after ACOL, and I’m loving it. I thought her debut last year, Beautiful Broken Things, was amazing, but I think this is even better. Once I’ve finished, I need to read Heartless by Marissa Meyer, as it’s the last book club book I need to read this month, and then I think it will be back to contemporary for a couple of books.

What are you reading this month? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

