Book Review: Behind The Mask

In my continuing quest to get my Netgalley shelf looking a bit more respectable, the short story anthology Behind The Mask: A Superhero Anthology was the next book on my list. Admittedly, it was also a relatively recent request, because I could not resist the idea of a collection of short stories focused on superheroes when they’re out of uniform, but it’s still a book off the shelf and that’s all that counts!

behind the mask

Behind the Mask is an exciting collection of short stories about the everyday lives of superheroes. Ranging from laugh-out-loud funny to deliciously dark, these stories are about the ordinary day-to-day challenges facing these extraordinary individuals growing up, growing old, relationships, parenting, coping with that age-old desire to fit in when, let’s face it, they don’t.

I’m going to be honest, I was disappointed with Behind The Mask. Only a couple of the stories resonated with me – my favourite was probably Eggshells by Ziggy Schutz, about a young superhero who suffers a head injury and which explores the effects of that – and I certainly didn’t find any of them ‘laugh-out-loud funny’. However, I did like that there was a good variety of countries and cities represented, and I didn’t hate any of the stories.

I think this might be my shortest review ever, because I just don’t have that much to say about it. It was a nice idea that didn’t quite work for me. I must say though, that short stories rarely satisfy me. I always want to know more about the backstory, or what happens next, so maybe I shouldn’t be surprised that Behind The Mask didn’t work for me. I’m sad that it didn’t though, because I’d been really looking forward to reading it.

3/5

ARC received from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

