Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things on my Reading Wishlist

toptentuesday2

And so another week has gone by without me posting anything. I definitely need to get back into this blog this week, but theres so much going on offline that I’m really struggling to find the time. However, Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, seems to be a constant, so at least there’s something going up! This week’s theme is things on my reading wishlist, so here goes. (Quick list tonight, because it’s late.)

  1. More own voices books
  2. More HEAs for LGBT characters
  3. More books focused around found family
  4. More books about female friendships
  5. More books with female lead characters and no romance
  6. More UK urban fantasy set somewhere other than London
  7. More bisexual, trans and non-binary lead characters
  8. More retellings of fairytales/myths from non-western cultures
  9. More villainous lead characters
  10. More coffeeshop AU style books

At least two of those wishes are very much influenced by having been to see Patrick Ness last night, as he tours his latest book. I hope to have a review of Release up this week, but in case I don’t manage it, I would like to tell you that it’s brilliant. 🙂 I also realise, by the way, that these things exist, probably in greater quantities than I’m aware of, but it’s hard to find them among the sheer volume of new books being released. Please let me know in the comments if you have any recommendations!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things on my Reading Wishlist

    1. I agree with you, it’s incredibly important. Friendship often lasts longer than romance, and the best romantic relationships are based on friendship anyway. I think MG books are much better at showing this than YA, I suppose because romance is seen as less important to under 12s, but I think there should be more across the board!

      Like

      1. Ooooh, that’s a good point I’ve never though of! But that totally makes sense. Here’s to friendship! What are your favorite MG friendship books?

        Like

Leave a Reply

