May Wrap-Up

You may have noticed that I’ve had something of a nightmare couple of months blogging-wise. I have very much lacked the energy or motivation to sit here and write all the posts I had wanted to, which is why there’s been a distinct lack of wrap-ups for March and April. It’s a shame, because I went to some smashing events in April, but c’est la vie. Onwards!

May Reading

In May I read 17 books. 17! How on earth did I manage that?! Not only that, I even reviewed some of them!

  • Throne of the Crescent Moon
  • Release
  • Accidental Superstar
  • Cloak and Dagger
  • Dramarama
  • One Italian Summer
  • Windfall
  • Spellslinger
  • Girlhood
  • How To Stop Time (I LOVED this book. Hopefully review to come!)
  • The Fallen Children
  • Shattered Minds
  • Countless
  • Letters to the Lost
  • The Serpent King
  • The Child Eater
  • When Dimple Met Rishi

I finally got back on track with my goodreads challenge this month (as you might expect when reading 17 books!). I also did quite well on my mini resolution to clear some of my library books – 6 of that list were from the library. However, I completely failed on clearing my Netgalley shelf, although I only requested one new book. I have to do better on that in June (although see below for why I probably won’t!).

Book Haul!

20170605_205423

I acquired 29 books in May. That’s actually a reduction of about a third on April’s. I may have a problem. *g* Spontaneous was, very sadly, a DNF, and I haven’t read most of the pile yet, but the books I have read, I’ve mostly enjoyed. I was lucky enough to win a giveaway on twitter from the lovely Karen McManus (@writerkmc) for When Dimple Met Rishi and The Love Interest, which is why I have lovely hardback US copies, and I was overjoyed to see Truth or Dare in May’s Ilumicrate (unboxing to come soon!). M R Carey’s The Boy on the Bridge should be in that photo, as should Heidi Heilig’s The Ship Beyond Time, but I somehow managed to forget them. Oops.

Events

I went to two lovely book events in May, within a few days of each other. The first was the wonderful Mike Carey at Waterstones Liverpool 1, promoting The Boy on the Bridge. I love listening to Mike talk about his books, and I can’t wait to read The Boy on the Bridge. It’s just that it’s a large hardback, which means I can’t carry it with me! The second event was Patrick Ness at Manchester Library (organised by Waterstones Deansgate), to promote Release. As with Mike, Patrick Ness is a delight to listen to, and I think he has a real understanding of what teens need in their books. I loved Release when I read it – my review is linked up there.

In non-book related events (not normally something I talk about here, I know), May was the month of Liverpool’s annual arts and culture celebration, Light Night. I did my usual highly planned wander round events, and loved almost every minute.

If you’re local to Liverpool, I highly recommend you check out Light Night next year. It’s exhausting, but so much fun!

I also got to take my mum to London for her 70th birthday present. My part of the present was lunch at Claridges, and oh my goodness, it was amazing. I have no photos, but believe me when I say it was fantastic. The food was gorgeous. The main part of her present from my dad was going to the Chelsea Flower Show. It was ridiculously hot and stupidly busy, but it was definitely another worthwhile experience.

20170525_151129.jpg

Looking Ahead

So what I should really be doing this month is continuing to try and clear my Netgalley shelf and library books. What I will actually be doing is planning a reading list for YALC, because yes, that time is upon us once again. There are so many amazing authors going and I want to have read as much as I can from them. I am also taking part in my very first blog tour later this month, for the amazing sounding The Devil’s Poetry by Louise Cole, so that’s next on my TBR. Keep an eye on the blog for my review! I’m also looking forward to two bookshop events – Juno Dawson on the 16th June at Waterstones Liverpool 1 with The Gender Games, and Non Pratt, Lucy Ivison and Tom Ellen at Waterstones Deansgate on the 22nd June.

So how was your May? Did you read any of the same books I did, or are you planning to read any of them in June? Do you have any events planned? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

