Six for Sunday: Book Covers I Love

Six for Sunday is a new meme hosted by Steph over at A Little But A Lot. This week’s theme is six types of books cover you love, so here goes.

1. Covers with maps. I love a good map and I am statistically 50% more likely to pick your book up if it has a map on the cover. Just so you know.

2. Colourful covers. I love the way the Wells and Wong series looks on my bookshelves, and that is completely down to the lovely bright colours that stand out. More of this please.

3. Covers by Karl J Mountford. Mountford has to be one of my favourite illustrators working on book covers at the moment. He has a real knack for getting them just right for the content. Just look at the difference between The Uncommoners and The Sinclair Mysteries, but both are perfect for the books. Give him ALL the work.

4. Foiled covers. So shiny. Do I need to say more?

5. Limited edition covers. I don’t have enough room on my bookshelves to buy more than one copy of a book (mostly. I have made exceptions.), but oh how I wish I did. I loved Hodder and Stoughton’s idea of 5 different covers for Caraval and getting to choose your favourite.

6. COVERS THAT MATCH. Sorry for shouting. But one of my pet peeves is covers changing partway through a series. Why do publishers hate me? Sometimes they get it right though, and I love a book series that has a theme throughout its covers. The Skyscraper Throne books had a brilliant silhouette of the London skyline along the bottom, that changed very slightly to match each book’s storyline. Brilliant!

What do you think of my favourite types of cover? What would yours be? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Six for Sunday: Book Covers I Love

Leave a Reply

