Unboxing: Illumicrate May 2017

 

20170530_195632.jpg

It’s hard to believe it’s been three months since my last Illumicrate unboxing, but it has been. I swear this year is going by too fast! I did plan to try another UK based subscription box, but I like Illumicrate too much to stop it and I can’t afford to buy more than one, at least until I stop my Marvel Collector Corps Funko box (which I love, and I’m pretty certain I’m going to finish at least this year out). So Illumicrate it is. I also really like that Illumicrate is only quarterly – it makes it much more affordable for me.

Here’s the other thing I really like about Illumicrate, and why they have my business for the forseeable future – as you can see from the picture above, the carrier did not treat my box very gently at all, and the consequence of this was that one of the items was broken. I mentioned it on twitter, but I didn’t really have any intention of taking it any further because I knew most of the items are exclusive to the box and therefore made in limited quantities. Daphne at Illumicrate saw my tweet though, and immediately offered to replace the item, which arrived a day later. The customer service was fantastic, and I can’t recommend Illumicrate enough.

But anyway, on to the contents!

20170530_20160220170530_201618

We got two books again this month – Truth or Dare by Non Pratt, which was signed, and an ARC of The Waking Land by Callie Bates. I had a feeling we were going to get Truth or Dare from the clues we’d been given, but I was still made up because I love Non. (I’m reading it at the moment and it’s great!) I’d seen The Waking Land on twitter but didn’t really know what it was about. Having read the synopsis and letter that came with it, I’m really looking forward to reading it now!

 

The first item in the box is a candle from Flickerink called Mermaid Lagoon, inspired by Peter Pan and Neverland. I’m not a big candle person to be honest, but I really like the way this one smells and I’m looking forward to lighting it in the near future!

20170530_201417.jpg

So I think these were my favourite items this month, especially the print. Book *and* Beauty and the Beast themed – what’s not to love?! These items are by T J Lubrano and I’m going to have to check out more of their work I think.

20170530_201512

I love this corner bookmark from Penguin Co, mostly because it involves a map (have I mentioned I love a good map? *g*). There seem to have been a lot of different designs made, but I’m really pleased with the one I got. I also love the keyring from Nutmeg and Arlo.

20170530_201849.jpg

Extras this month were a Windfall poster, a The Gender Games badge and a set of postcards from Taste of Blue Light. I have no idea what this book is, but the cards are gorgeous, so I guess I’ll have to do a bit of investigating!

20170530_202323.jpg

So that was May’s Illumicrate. (The item that broke was a mug with artwork by Merwild, based on the ACOTAR series, but I haven’t taken a picture of the replacement and it didn’t seem fair to post the broken one.) I was really pleased with this box – everything in it spoke to my interests and I’m already looking forward to August’s!

Do you get any subscription boxes? What do you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Unboxing: Illumicrate May 2017

    1. I’m already halfway through Truth or Dare and I love it! Illumicrate is a pretty great box. There are others I want to try, but I can’t really afford to get more than one. I’m sure I’ll cope though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

