I Dare You Book Tag

So a ridiculous amount of time ago, Alice over at Reading, Writing, Blogging tagged me for the I Dare You Book Tag.

The rules are:

  • You must be honest
  • You can’t not answer a question
  • You have to tag at least four people

So here we go!

  1. Which book has been on your shelves the longest?
    On my bookshelf there sits a copy of The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blyton, which was one of the first books I ever owned, so I would guess it’s that!
  2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?
    Current read: Truth or Dare by Non Pratt and The Devil’s Poetry by Louise Cole
    Last read: A Tragic Kind of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom
    Next read: Hopefully All Good Things by Emma Newman
  3. What book(s) did everyone like and you hated?
    Oh, lots! Most recently, Heartless by Marissa Meyer, which I gave up on because I was so bored. Or Stealing Snow by Danielle Page (same). Or The Monstrous Child by Francesca Simon, which went as far as being nominated for the Costa. I did manage to finish that one, but only because it was short and a book club book.
  4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?
    Pride and Prejudice. I do really want to – I love all the adaptations of it, but I’ve tried to read it and never get past the first few chapters. That’s probably not going to change.
  5. Which book are you saving for “retirement”?
    I suppose I kind of have a plan to read all those classics (see above!) I’ve avoided!
  6. Last page: read it first or wait till the end?
    I’m a terrible, terrible person and will almost always read the end while I’m still near the beginning. I tried to stop after I realised spoiling Half Blood Prince for myself had been a bad idea, but I can’t help myself! The exception is when I’m reading on kindle, but only because it’s so much more difficult to flip to the back of the book.
  7. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?
    I love reading the acknowledgements! Some of them have actually made me cry too.
  8. Which book character would you switch places with?
    Most of the books I read take place in worlds with horrible things happening, so I’m not sure I’d want to switch with any of the characters, but maybe Rosemary from The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, because everyone in that book is so lovely to her!
  9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?
    I read Lost in a Good Book, the second Thursday Next book, while sat in an airport on my way to New Zealand, and I remember being so desperate for the next one when I’d finished – which was at home – I trawled the airport bookshops for it. Sense prevailed and I waited til I got home (FOUR weeks later!) before finally getting to read it, so that whole series reminds me of that trip!
  10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way.
    Most of the books I’ve obtained at YALC have been acquired in an interesting way! I had to tell the Scholastic stand an embarrassing secret to get a copy of  Super Awkward by Beth Garrod, for example, or I chased people dressed as doctors around so they could stamp my hand for a copy of Contagion by Teri Terry. That’s just two examples from last year!
  11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?
    My books are mine. MINE I tell you! So no. But I buy books for most people I know – I found a first edition of The Adventures of Tom Bombadil in a bookfair once going relatively cheap (because it was slightly damaged) so I bought that for my brother who is a huge LOTR fan.
  12. Which book has been with you to the most places?
    Dreamweaver by Jonathan Wylie used to come with me every time I went abroad as my ‘plane’ book – it was a book I loved, but didn’t need to concentrate on too much, and it didn’t matter if I didn’t finish it so it was perfect to take away with me. So that, probably.
  13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?
    I don’t think I’ve ever revisited any books from school, because I really did hate them all so very much. I love some of the plays we did but then I liked them at the time too, so I don’t think I have an answer to this. I will say though, that while I am very much of the thought that plays were written to be seen, not studied, having studied Macbeth and The Crucible at GCSE, I have a different appreciation for them than the plays I didn’t study.
  14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?
    The only things I’ve found in books have been other people’s bookmarks or shopping lists.
  15. Used or brand new?
    I prefer brand new (so shiny!), but I’ll happily trawl charity and secondhand shops and pick up books for cheap. Also, I have a pretty extensive collection of Chalet School books, almost all of which were secondhand.
  16. Have you ever read a Dan Brown?
    Yup. I read the first three Robert Langdon books. I enjoyed the first two, while acknowledging they weren’t very well written (imo) but the third I hated and it put me off reading any more.
  17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?
    Not a movie, but I much prefer the TV versions of The Crow Road and Neverwhere to the books (although I have not yet read the author’s preferred text edition of Neverwhere, and my opinion might change!).
  18. A book that NEVER should have been published.
    I honestly don’t know. I have thoughts about this that are far too serious to be in a fun book tag.
  19. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?
    I don’t think so. I spend a lot of time hungry so hard to separate that from the reading! *g*
  20. Who is the person whose book advice you will always take?

My best friend has never steered me wrong (well, maybe once or twice) in the 25 years I’ve known her. One of the reasons we became friends is because we liked the same books!

I have no idea who hasn’t done this yet, so apologies if I tag you when you’ve already done it!

Amy @ Golden Books Girl

Kristin @ Kristin Kraves Books

Louise @ Book Murmuration

Lyndsey @ Lyndsey’s Book Blog

6 thoughts on “I Dare You Book Tag

Leave a Reply

