2022 Bookish Resolutions

So hi. It’s been a while (although it’s almost certainly not the longest break I’ve taken from this blog) and I thought I should definitely come and post something. And it’s January, so why not a bookish resolutions post?!

Number one, top bookish resolution of the year is actually start blogging consistently. I almost put again at the end of that sentence, but I think the only time I have actually posted consistently was December 2016 when I managed a post a day to start the blog off. So, maybe a schedule? A committment to a certain number of posts a week? I’m not going to lie, if I go with that, it’s not going to be more than one a week, but it’s a start.

Number two has to be clear my netgalley shelf. Although actually, that seems a bit unrealistic, so let’s say get my netgalley ratio up to 60%. No, I’m not going to tell you what it is at the moment, because that’s too embarrassing.

Number three is my goodreads challenge, which I’ve set at 141. Last year’s was 140. I normally like to increase it a little more than 1 book, but I struggled so much last year (at the beginning of December I was 30 books away from hitting it, and I only managed to meet it by reading all my graphic novels!). I know it’s arbitrary, but I’ve hit it every year I’ve been setting it and I can’t bear the thought of not managing it!

Number four is to make sure that 50% of the books I read came into this house before 1 January 2022. My TBR is out of control and I need to start reading some of them instead of the shiny new books.

Number five is similar to the last one, and it’s to read my Illumicrate books. There is absolutely no point in me paying for a subscription box and never reading any of the books, it doesn’t matter how pretty they are!

And number six is to post every day (more or less) on instagram. Most posts will be bookish, but there will also be photos of some of my art journalling and papercrafts, and just general life. I’ve kept it up for 16 days so far, so fingers crossed!

I must admit, some of these resolutions sound very familar. This is the third resolutions post I’ve done on the blog (the last two were in January 2018 and 2017) and they genuinely haven’t changed that much! I am going to be better at blogging and reviewing – and let me know if you’d be interested in seeing things like theatre reviews from me (although I’m not promising anything!).

Hopefully I’ll see you around in 2022!

2 thoughts on “2022 Bookish Resolutions

Leave a comment