Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Covers That Made Me Want To Read The Book

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish and this week’s theme was a cover freebie. Despite being brought up to not judge a book by its cover, I chose to go with ten covers that made me want to read the book.

1. The City’s Son by Tom Pollock

the city's son

Just look at it! I still remember seeing it on the shelves at Waterstones and thinking I HAVE to read it – and then I went and bought it on kindle because I’m an idiot. I have a paperback of it now though, and what I really love is that the covers of the trilogy all have their own, relevant, spin on the same picture. It’s actually one of my favourite books, so the cover did not deceive me! (I’ve just seen the US cover and, well, I’m glad we got this version!)

2. The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine

mystery of clockwork sparrow

This cover just drew my eye immediately and I knew I had to read the book. I don’t really read many mysteries, even in children’s, but when I do, they’re historical. This cover made it abundantly clear that this was my sort of mystery!

3. Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

rivers of london

I love London. I love maps. I especially love maps drawn by Stephen Walter. The fact that this cover was on a urban fantasy book was frankly just a bonus!

4. Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

murder most unladylike

The cover is bright blue and makes absolutely clear that this is a murder mystery set in a 1930s school. Obviously I was going to pick it up! (I must admit that the cover was not the only reason I bought it, but it certainly helped.)

5. Between Two Thorns by Emma Newman

between two thorns

Again, the cover isn’t the only reason I picked this up, but it was a contributing factor, because it’s just so pretty. I love the font and the background and the odd splashes of colour.

6. The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

sin eaters daughter

Well it’s just stunning, isn’t it? I don’t think any further explanation is needed!

7. Ink by Alice Broadway

ink-cover

You obviously can’t see it in the picture, but this cover is foiled and so, so shiny and I love it. I had to buy it!

8. Strange the Dreamer

std cover

So I know I actually read this as an e-arc, but I’d known I had to have it as soon as Hodder and Stoughton published what the book would look like. I suppose it’s not just the cover, but the book as a whole, with its sprayed edges and foiled cover. I’d ordered mine online and it was a bit late in arriving so I kept going into Waterstones just to stroke it a bit. It’s so pretty!

9. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Chris Riddell

neverwhere

I had no intention of buying a copy of Neverwhere. I’d read it years ago, and had a kindle version and didn’t see the need for another one. Until I saw this book, which honestly made me catch my breath it was that beautiful. I love it. (I still haven’t read it, but that’s a completely different matter. :)) Also, Chris Riddell’s illustrated version of The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge is just as spectacular, but I would have bought that anyway, which is why it’s not on the list.

10. Radiance by Catherynne M Valente

radiance

I was immediately drawn to this cover. I almost certainly wouldn’t have picked it up without that cover, and I would definitely have missed out on one of my favourite books last year. It doesn’t particularly tell you anything about the story, but I still had to know what was inside the pages, and I wasn’t disappointed.

So there’s my top ten covers that made me want to read the book. Which books (if any) have you read because of the cover? Let me know in the comments!

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Covers That Made Me Want To Read The Book

Leave a comment