Bookish Resolutions in 2017

Can you believe the first week of 2017 is almost done? Fortunately that means the first week back at work after two weeks off is also done and I can relax and enjoy my weekend, which feels much needed, even after a four day week!

I decided I wanted to talk a little bit about my bookish resolutions for this year in this post, because I have a few of them and writing them down somewhere might mean that I actually stick to them. So without further ado:

1. Read more diversely, particularly concentrating on own voices. I’ve always prided myself on reading a wide range of diverse books, and then this year I looked back at my list and realised I was fooling myself. Most of the books I read are written by straight, cis, white people. Yes, most of them are by women, but frankly that’s not good enough. So this year I am going to make more of an effort to seek out those own voices books.

2. Make some progress on the TBR pileOr piles, as is actually the case. My bedroom is like an obstacle course because of the wobbly piles of books all over the place. I need to make an effort to read those books, instead of buying more. Will I do this? No, probably not. New books are so shiny and I can think of three books I want to buy when I’m in town tomorrow and I’ve pre-ordered another two online this evening. It’s not looking good, is it?

3. Read my kindle books. Because if the kindle tbr pile was in physical form, there wouldn’t be any room for me in my house. I’ve let it get ridiculously out of control because I went off reading in ebook format and back to my shiny paperbacks, but I can never pass up a bargain and the 99p kindle deals were just too much for my willpower. I need to catch up before I forget what I own.

4. Write all my overdue Netgalley reviews. The books end up on my kindle, and I think the above entry makes clear that that is not the best place to be if they want to be read. Desperately need to do this.

5. Keep up with the reading challenges. So I have my Goodreads challenge (150 books! Eek!) and the British Books Challenge, but I decided that wasn’t enough, so I’m also going to be completing the Queer 52 Challenge, which also ties in nicely with point 1 above. The challenge is to read either 12, 24 or 52 queer YA books this year, depending on the level you choose. I think 52 is probably beyond me, so I’m quietly aiming for 24. I’m also not necessarily following the list that is posted on the website, as it’s very US-centric and I’d rather concentrate on UK authors, but they do say any queer YA counts.

6. Become an active member of the bookish community. Because the bookish community is a wonderful, supportive place, particularly the YA section, and I want to be more of a part of it. I’m trying, but I’m also failing at the moment, so I need to put actual time aside to contribute.

So six. Six seems reasonable, and they should all tie in to one another. Let’s see what happens!

Have you set any bookish resolutions this year? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment